Organizations & Associations

Physical Impairments

Muscular Dystrophy Association: www.mda.org

 

Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy: www.parentprojectmd.org

 

United Cerebral Palsy:
www.ucp.org

 

Visual Impairments:

American Council for the Blind: 
www.acb.org

 

American Foundation for the Blind: 
www.afb.org

 

Alzheimer’s/Dementia:

Alzheimer’s Association: 
www.alz.org

 

Hearing Impairments:

DOOR International: www.doorinternational.com

 

National Association of the Deaf: www.nad.org

 

Mental Illness:

National Alliance on Mental Illness:  www.nami.org

 

Autism:

Foundation for Autism Training and Education: 
www.thefate.org

 

The Gray Center:  www.thegraycenter.org/home

 

Autism Outreach, Inc.

www.autismoutreach.org

 

US Autism & Asperger Association:  www.usautism.org

 

Learning Disabiltiies:

LD OnLine:

www.ldonline.org

 

ADHD:

Children and Adults with AD/HD:

www.chadd.org

 

ADDitude:

www.additudemag.com

 

Physical Disabilities, Mental Disabilities, & Emotional Struggles

This is a place you can go to find support for all forms of disability struggles. You will find resources for austism, depression, attention disorders, physical disabilities, and more.

 

Beginning Guidelines and Resources for an Inclusive Church (Click here)

 

Training, Curricula & Safety Forms

Special Needs by Gospel Lights created by Joni and Friends

 

Books

Child by Child: Supporting Children with Learning Differences and Their Families
by Susan Richardson

 

Helping Kids Include Kids with Disabilities
by Barbara J. Newman

 

A Place Called Acceptance: Ministry with Families of Children with Disabilities
by Kathleen Deyer Bolduc

 

Austim: The Presbyterian Church in Canada, Christian Education Resources: Welcoming a Child with Autism

 

Autism and Your Church: Nurturing the Spiritual Growth of People with Autism Spectrum
by Barbara J Newman

 

Faith, Family, and Children with Special Needs
by David Rizzo

 

Everybody Is Different: A Book for Young People Who Have Brothers or Sisters With Autism by Fiona Bleach

 

Maddie: Teaching Tolerance with a Smile by Sean O'Brien

 

 

Online Ministries

The Inclusive Church: theinclusivechurch.wordpress.com

 

Key Ministry: A Church for Every Child  www.keyministry.org

 

Christian Learning Center Church Services: www.clcnetwork.org/church_services

 

Faith Inclusion Network:  http://faithinclusionnetwork.org

 

Friendship Ministries: www.friendship.org

 

Joni and Friends: www.joniandfriends.org

 

Nathaniel’s Hope: www.nathanielshope.org

 

Chosen Families: http://chosenfamilies.org/about

 

PURE Ministries: www.pure-ministries.com

 

Disability Is Natural: www.disabilityisnatural.com

 

99 Ballons: www.99balloons.org

 

Faith Ability: Religion and Disability Resources: www.faithability.org

 

disAbility, Theology, Ministry and the Church: www.abilitychurch.org

 

Friendship Circle Special Needs Resources: www.friendshipcircle.org/blog/about

 

Disabled Christianity: http://disabledchristianity.blogspot.com/2013/09/video-answers-to-questionswhat-are_30.html

 

 

Video Resources

McLean Bible Church - How to Talk to Parents: http://youtu.be/fa5fHAi83cc

 

McLean Bible Church – An Inclusive Approach to Children’s Ministry

http://youtu.be/5QCvmqbEj9c

 

Misunderstood Minds (A PBS documentary): www.pbs.org/wgbh/misunderstoodminds/about.html

 

 

Online Parent Support

Not Alone: http://specialneedsparenting.net

 

Walk Right In Ministries: www.walkrightin.org

 

Snappin’ Ministries: www.snappin.org

 

Parent Blogs

http://wherelilliblooms.blogspot.com

 

www.gillianmarchenko.com

 

www.comfortinthemidstofchaos.com

 

http://insightforliving.typepad.com/specialneeds

 

http://rebekahmhallberg.com

 

This page was last updated by JK 1/26/15

Call us:

317-713-2641

Ministries Across Generations

Disciples Home Missions

PO Box 1986, Indianapolis, IN 46206-1986

© 2018 Disciples Home Missions, Wix.com

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now